bugBattle for Wesnoth - Bugs: bug #20101, Planning mode to easy to activate...

 
 
Show feedback again

bug #20101: Planning mode to easy to activate by mistake, impossible to disable

Submitted by:  ancestral <ancestral>
Submitted on:  Mon 27 Aug 2012 02:03:19 AM UTC  
 
Category: Feature RequestSeverity: 3 - Normal
Priority: 5 - NormalItem Group: User Interface
Status: NonePrivacy: Public
Assigned to: NoneOpen/Closed: Open
Release: 1.9+Operating System: Any

Add a New Comment (Rich MarkupRich Markup):
   

You are not logged in

Please log in, so followups can be emailed to you.

 

Sat 29 Mar 2014 06:42:44 PM UTC, comment #4:

I think we should potentially consider this fixed, as fabi has now arranged so that a text banner "planning mode enabled!" appears at the appropriate time.

Chris Beck <involution>
Project Member
Mon 15 Apr 2013 01:45:27 AM UTC, comment #3:

So I am looking at some of the bold text in comment #2 (specifically, "You cannot expect new players to disable a feature they know nothing about."), and it appears to answer the last question in the original submission ("Also, can we have an advanced option in Preferences to disable planning mode?"). If you cannot expect (new) players to disable a feature, then there really is not much point in adding an ability to disable the feature, is there? It would just be wasted effort on an ineffective solution.

Sure, you make a good case for changing the default hotkey (something I had not commented on before), but I still see no convincing reason to add an advanced option that would offer no functionality beyond the existing option to unassign the hotkey. I think time would be better spent on ideas other than this proposed advanced option.

J Tyne <jamit>
Project Member
Thu 04 Apr 2013 01:54:09 AM UTC, comment #2:

I have played with new players, or players picking up the game from a long hiatus, and by far the most common way of accidentally activating planning mode is while typing a message to send, but forgetting to hit 'm' beforehand. By far, both these players, and I, find it utterly confusing, and are unsure how to cancel what we accidentally did.

Some reasons why include:

  • There are no other hotkeys consisting of just a single letter which can be activated when it is not your turn. None.
  • There is not enough of an indicator informing the user planning mode is active. People can enable it without realizing they've done so! (And when they're ready to make a move, it doesn't work, as they're in planning mode.)
  • If a player accidentally enables planning mode, it is unclear how to undo these things. (It's been unclear to me until very recently I have to choose to delete these planned moves!)
  • There are no instructions on how to escape planning mode (escape doesn't work, to my knowledge it doesn't exist in the menubar, no text explains how to get out).

You cannot expect new players to disable a feature they know nothing about. You need to either keep it disabled, or provide instructions on how to escape planning mode and cancel the inadvertent actions.

ancestral <ancestral>
Wed 26 Dec 2012 07:17:16 PM UTC, comment #1:

I asked about the "virtually impossible to disable planning mode altogether" aspect in the forum, but I'll pose the question here as well. The (obvious?) first step for a player to take if they do not like planning mode is to go to the game's preferences and clear the hotkey for "Planning Mode" (or for "Toggle Planning Mode" in some older versions). Given that, how are people accidentally turning on planning mode without the hotkey? (Where is the advantage in a "disable" preference, over simply clearing the hotkey?)

J Tyne <jamit>
Project Member
Mon 27 Aug 2012 02:03:19 AM UTC, original submission:

Planning mode is much too easy to activate by mistake simply because the hotkey is the letter ‘p’. If players are typing messages in multiplayer and one forgets to press ‘m’ it’s quite easy to enable it. Some players aren’t a fan of planning mode (including me) — it’s virtually impossible to disable planning mode altogether.

Relevant discussion: http://forums.wesnoth.org/viewtopic.php?t=37462
(Additionally, I know it’s been suggested on IRC to change the planning mode hotkey.)

Can we change this hotkey to something else? (Shift+P is slightly better.) Also, can we have an advanced option in Preferences to disable planning mode?

Thanks!

ancestral

ancestral <ancestral>

 

(Note: upload size limit is set to 1024 kB, after insertion of the required escape characters.)

Attach File(s):
   
   
Comment:
   

No files currently attached

 

Depends on the following items: None found

Items that depend on this one: None found

 

Carbon-Copy List
  • -unavailable- added by involution (Posted a comment)
  • -unavailable- added by jamit (Posted a comment)
  • -unavailable- added by ancestral (Submitted the item)
  •  

    Do you think this task is very important?
    If so, you can click here to add your encouragement to it.
    This task has 0 encouragements so far.

    Only logged-in users can vote.

     

    Please enter the title of George Orwell's famous dystopian book (it's a date):

     

     

    No Changes Have Been Made to This Item
    Show feedback again

    Back to the top


    Powered by Savane 3.1-cleanup